Part 76: Tuesday 24th April 1961, 6.25 pm

This entry is edited for brevity (as future ones will be) otherwise I have no hope of putting all Journal entries online in my lifetime. I hope my father would have accepted such a decision by his “literary executor”.

The “acute lumbago” has resolved itself into a pain in the left ankle, left buttock, back of left knee (in that order of severity). Is this a repetition, physiologically, of my “trouble” of April 1949, when I left Forest Emergency Training College? Then, I had begun to experience pain which I think at first occurred in knee of left leg, but then, I believe, moved to ankle and buttock, as now. Then I “flapped” for the first and what I hope will be the only time in my life. Although I realised even then that the pain was never unbearable, I felt that if it persisted it would stop my teaching.

The routine Health Service diagnosis, flat foot – and treatment – special shoe, massage exercises – did not seem to help, and eventually I consulted an orthopedist privately. He gave me the whole works…

The whole thing set me back a hundred quid or so, but it enabled me – perhaps – to get the LCC’s MO’s certificate to the effect that I was to teach primary…

Ten years later, I found primary school teaching was getting me down, and I managed to make my getaway to Barnsbury, where I now feel I could cope if I were fit…

Dr Ballot diagnosed slipped disc. He told me to come in a fortnight’s time, when I should be symptom free…I am worried not so much by the continued pain…as by the fear that by neglecting the thing I am endangering complete recovery.

Please leave a comment

