Part 163: Monday, 21st June 1965, approx. 10.55 p.m.

(clock in dining room has stopped; if I don’t wind it, no one does)

Came home from evening class to find Mrs Hardy baby-sitting – E. off to her housewives’ book evening. Just as well, I feel guilty not giving E. my company when I come home (“Ha, that’s a laugh, you just sit down and read without saying a word.” True, but – oh, I don’t know!).

E. going into dock to have her leg ulcer operated on. I’m glad she’s made up her mind to do it…

Swiss firm of photo-book publishers want to know if I can translate one of their books -“Malta“, a beautiful job, better finished, viewed purely as an artefact, than God’s Wilderness.

If we can agree on terms, may be a bit of a breakthrough, as it may lead to a permanent flow of work. But this would put paid to any attempts at original articles. I feel I must turn myself into an earning machine and do

1) My full-time teaching

2) one hundred evenings teaching a year…if I did more I think I would crack, if less, I would be idle, in the old OCTU [Officer Cadet Training Unit, my father was in one during the war] parlance.

3) Translating in holidays

4) Bookkeeping for Sam

Re 1) I now rehearse till 5.40-6.00p.m. as a chorus boy for the school’s production of “The Pirates“. Galling, one or two boys have “principal” parts, but like Pooh Bah, must carry on humiliating myself.

Philip off colour last night, but I gather from circumstantial evidence that he went to school to-day (his dinner-money envelope is empty), but Max, who was off colour this morning, didn’t go, I think. Susannah, too, has been under doctor’s orders. If I believed in petitionary prayer, in the usual meaning of that phrase, I would pray never to see a doctor until I snuff it.

Susannah a shtimme leelik, by the way, can only say No, Daddee, Mummee, me, gok (clock) ghe-ghe = greengrocer. Boobbe and Sam a bit worried. Have tried to ascertain from previous volume of this Journal when Max started talking, but have only been able to see that he was able to say Daddy, Mummy and Pippick (for Philip) before he was two – though it’s true Susannah has been saying Daddy and Mummy for some months now, too.

2 thoughts on “Part 163: Monday, 21st June 1965, approx. 10.55 p.m.

  1. That’s why I chose this school, for its focus on music and annual production, so Pirates of Penzance was my first production when I joined FBCS. Your father was such a talented man and clearly worked very hard and long hours – certainly he was an excellent teacher. It’s so interesting to read about the other aspects of his life and look at the gallery.

Please leave a comment